ESI announced the champions of Malaysia Esports League 2021 (MEL21) State Leagues and the start of MEL21 National League (Nationals). As part of KBS’s National Esports Blueprint and through the Esports Integrated (ESI) initiative, the inaugural MEL21 State Leagues were held from 10 July till 8 August 2021 and MEL21 Nationals will be held from 14 August till 1 September 2021.

A total of 288 players from 64 teams were crowned State Champions. These champions will then represent their home states (13 states and 3 Federal Territories) in MEL21 Nationals, competing for RM20,000 prize money per category (PlayerUnknown’s Battlegrounds Mobile (PUBGM), Mobile Legends: Bang Bang (MLBB), EA Sports FIFA21 and Dota 2).

MEL21 is organised by ESI in collaboration with 16 state esports associations, featuring a prize pool of RM200,000. Almost 30,000 local grassroot players registered for the fully online competition, held in accordance with the SOPs set under the National Recovery Plan – Phase 1. Total viewership of MEL21 State Leagues’ live stream sessions via the national esports tournament platform, and ESI’s Facebook page were 200,000 views and for MEL21 Nationals, ESI expects around 100,000 views.

MEL21 Nationals will be live streamed on and ESI’s Facebook page.

By George Miller

George Miller started his career in content marketing and has started working as an Editor/Content Manager for our company in 2016. George has acquired many experiences when it comes to interviews and newsworthy content becoming Head of Content in 2017. He is responsible for the news being shared on multiple websites that are part of the European Gaming Media Network.